Sonia Gandhi demands resignation of Congress presidents of five election states. Sonia Gandhi asked the PCC Presidents of UP Uttarakhand Punjab Goa Manipur to put in their resignations


Sonia Gandhi - India TV Hindi

Image Source : PTI
Sonia Gandhi


  • Sonia asks state presidents of UP, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur to resign
  • State President of Punjab Sidhu and Ajay Kumar Lallu of UP are also victims of this decision of Congress.

new Delhi: Congress President Sonia Gandhi The BJP has asked the presidents of state units of Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur to resign following the party’s crushing defeat in the recent assembly elections. Party’s chief spokesperson Randeep Surjewala gave this information on Tuesday. He tweeted, “Congress President Sonia Gandhi ji has asked the presidents of the state units of Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Goa and Manipur to resign so that the state Congress committees can be reconstituted.”

Congress Working Committee held last Sunday (CWCCongress leaders had expressed confidence in the leadership of Sonia Gandhi and said that she should continue in the post till the completion of organizational elections and take necessary steps to strengthen the party.

Shortly after the instructions of the Congress President, Godiyal announced his resignation. Godiyal tweeted his resignation saying, “Taking moral responsibility for the party’s defeat in the state assembly elections, today I have submitted my resignation. I wanted to resign on the result day itself but stayed on waiting for the order of the high command. It got only 19 seats in the 70-member assembly, while the BJP retained power by winning 47 seats. Godiyal also had to face defeat from the Srinagar assembly seat.

In Punjab, the Congress suffered a crushing defeat from the Aam Aadmi Party and got only 18 seats. Sidhu also lost the election from Amritsar East. In Uttar Pradesh, Congress was reduced to just two seats, despite Priyanka Gandhi Vadra’s full force. The party had to be content with 11 seats in Goa and just five in Manipur. Ajay Kumar Lallu to Uttar Pradesh Congress Committee in August, 2019, Sidhu to Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee in July, 2021, Godiyal to July, 2021, Chodankar to Goa Pradesh Congress Committee in April, 2018 and Loken Singh to Manipur Pradesh in September, 2021 The President of the Congress Committee was appointed.

Sonia Gandhi has taken this action against the presidents of the election states at a time when senior party leader Kapil Sibal has said that the Gandhi family should leave the party leadership and give a chance to another leader.

(input agency)