Rajya Sabha Elections: For the first time in the history of North East, there was a big upheaval, the Congress was wiped out. Rajya Sabha Elections: NDA BJP wins 4 northeast RS seats in historic Congress wipeout


Congress BJP Party Flag- India TV Hindi

Image Source : FILE PHOTO
Congress BJP Party Flag


  • Rajya Sabha elections: BJP won 4 seats in North East
  • BJP won Tripura seat on the strength of its numbers
  • NDA now has 13 out of 14 Upper House seats from this region

Guwahati: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its ally UPPL on Thursday won all four Rajya Sabha seats in the northeastern states. At the same time, for the first time in parliamentary history, the Congress has not got any representation from the North East region in the Upper House (Rajya Sabha). BJP won the Tripura seat on the strength of its numbers and won the Nagaland seat unopposed. Cross-voting and invalid opposition votes in Assam helped the saffron party and its ally UPPL win both the seats where elections were held.

Two candidates of the ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) Pabitra Margarita of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Rangra Narzari of the UPPL were elected to the Rajya Sabha from Assam while Congress candidate and sitting MP Ripun Bora voted in favor of the second candidate by the opposition members. Lost the election because of The NDA now has 13 of the 14 seats in the Upper House from this region. Independents hold 1 seat in Assam.

The BJP also won the Nagaland seat, which was held by its ally NPF, unopposed. In Tripura, the CPI(M) lost its seat to the BJP. BJP candidate and state party president Manik Saha won in Tripura by defeating CPM candidate, former minister and sitting MLA Bhanu Lal Saha. In Nagaland, BJP’s S Phangnon Konyak created history in state politics and became the first woman to be elected to the Rajya Sabha.

Let us inform that, Margarita got 46 votes while Narzari got 44 and Bora got 35 votes. Margarita’s victory was considered certain. All 126 MLAs of the Assam Legislative Assembly cast their vote and one vote was found invalid. The ruling NDA has 79 seats in the assembly, out of which the BJP has 63, the AGP nine and the UPPL seven.

The strength of the opposition in the House is 47, out of which 27 are from Congress, 15 from AIUDF, three from BPF and one from CPI(M) while three MLAs are independents. Two Congress MLAs Shashikant Das and Sharman Ali Ahmed have been suspended from the party. Das had earlier announced that he would vote for NDA candidates while the BPF had extended support to the state government but it is yet to form a formal political alliance.

Opposition parties had earlier announced that they would unanimously support the Congress candidate, but Bora’s 35 votes indicated that seven opposition legislators voted for the other candidates. The Congress on Thursday suspended Karimganj (South) MLA Siddiqui Ahmed from the primary membership of the party with immediate effect for “willful defiance of the three-line whip issued by the party’s chief whip Wajid Ali Chowdhury”.

The party said that Ahmed deliberately wrote in words instead of numbers while casting his vote, which made his vote invalid. Voting for the Rajya Sabha elections took place on Thursday and counting began at 5 pm but was delayed due to Congress complaints against five MLAs. The counting of votes finally started at 10.30 pm and continued till late in the night. All the candidates and their agents were present during the counting of votes.

Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said the winning candidates have got “reasonable votes” from the opposition. He had appealed to the opposition parties, barring the AIUDF, to vote for the candidates of the ruling coalition. “Assam has once again reposed faith in Prime Minister Narendra Modi by electing two NDA candidates. My best wishes to the winners.”

The Congress alleged that five AIUDF MLAs visited the chief minister’s residence on Friday morning after betraying the opposition candidates in the Rajya Sabha polls. Party spokesperson Manjit Mahanta said, “MLAs from Sonai, Abdul Ajit, Badarpur Abdul Ajit, Changa Ashraful Hussain, Jania Hafiz Rafikul Islam and Dhingh Aminul Ismal were seen entering Sarma’s residence at 6 am and They came out from there around 8:30 in the morning.

These two Rajya Sabha seats were earlier held by Congress members Ripul Bora and Rani Nara. Assam Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Nitin Khade expressed his gratitude to everyone for their cooperation in completing the election process. He was appointed observer for the Rajya Sabha elections. ,Input – with language,